2022 World Cup Qualifiers Announced

The first round of qualifiers for African teams ahead of the 2022 World Cup were announced today. The draw, which took place in Cairo, Egypt, pits 28 teams from across the continent in a head-to-head battle for a place in the next round of qualifiers.

The fixtures will be as follows:

Ethiopia v Lesotho

Somalia v Zimbabwe

Eritrea v Namibia

Burundi v Tanzania

Djibouti v Eswatini

Botswana v Malawi

Gambia v Angola 

Liberia v Sierra Leone 

Mauritius v Mozambique

Sao Tome & Principe v Guinea Bissau

South Sudan v Equatorial Guinea

Comoros Islands v Togo 

Chad v Sudan

Seychelles v Rwanda

In each case two legs will be played in September 2019, with the winners then joining Africa’s top-ranked 26 siders for the next round of matches. Following a third round the five qualifying teams for Qatar 2022 will be determined.

Blessing Mwangi